Leave a comment

Writer during Sleeps

The monkey is going through a developmental spurt which purees her sleep schedule, so I’m slotting in writerly time where I can.

IMG_3595

Looking at her, you wouldn’t think her capable of singlehandedly devouring every last shred of writing time. You would be wrong.

On the #amediting front, I’m slaughtering an 8000-word gorgon. Out of its corpse springs a more manageable (and marketable) 6000-word pegasus.  It pained me to hack off so many sparkly serpents, but redundancy is deadly.

On the #amwriting front! I’m tackling the Indies Unlimited prompt.  This one is emerging like a figurine from a chunk of sedimentary stone.  I wrote a slab of brainstorm-y notes and started sanding away at them until a story started taking form.  Nammu and the Robot Hawk is starting to look like something. I should be able to finish the draft tonight after the squid goes down.

And with that, the nap dissipates. The monkey calls and the computer must sleep.

Leave a comment